CAMBRIA COMMUNITY SERVICES DISTRICT BOARD OF DIRECTORS SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES Monday, December 4, 2017 10:00 AM

1. OPENING

A. Call to Order

President Rice called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

B. Pledge of Allegiance

President Rice led the Pledge of Allegiance.

C. Establishment of Quorum

A quorum was established.

Directors present: President Rice, Vice President Farmer, Director Bahringer, and Director Wharton.

Staff present: General Manager Jerry Gruber, District Counsel Timothy Carmel, Administrative Services Officer/District Clerk Monique Madrid, and Confidential Administrative Assistant Haley Dodson.

2. PUBLIC COMMENT ON AGENDA ITEMS

Public Comment on process.

3. REGULAR BUSINESS (Estimated time: 15 Minutes per item)

A. DISCUSSION AND CONSIDERATION TO APPOINT A NEW DIRECTOR TO FILL THE VACANCY CREATED BY THE RESIGNATION OF GREGORY SANDERS

President Rice introduced the item and reviewed the process.

She asked for consensus on some clarification on the process.

Candidates will be allowed 4 minutes for an introduction and will be asked follow-up questions by the Board if they have any.

Public Comment following introductions:

Following public comment will reduce the number of applicants.

These applicants will proceed to the guestioning of the Board.

Each candidate will be asked the same question by the Board Members. Board Members will select a question from the list of questions prepare by the President and Director Bahringer. Approximately 12 minutes per applicant. Public Comment following the question period.

Candidates who did not move forward to the questioning period are not necessarily eliminated and can be considered at a later time. Elimination only occurs when the successful applicant is appointed.

Vice President Farmer requested to identify the qualifying characteristics in an applicant. He's looking for someone who will honestly assess the many challenges that face the District and the community. Make difficult decisions on putting financial house in order. Fresh ideas, gain the respect of ratepayers, someone who loves Cambria, respect of Mother Earth and Cambria.

Director Wharton read his statement on his ideas related to the numerous emails he received and what was stated in them.

Director Bahringer agreed with Director Wharton.

President Rice's goal today is the exhibit of intellectual and civility, pay attention to the budget, and focus on multiple issues related to the entire community.

Public Comment on process or questions: Steve Kniffen Don Howell Dino Araali Jeff Hellman Ronald Cristando

AGP placed the questions on the screen and each Director selected a question from the numbered questions 1-10.

Selections as follows:

President Rice- Question # 9 Vice President Farmer- Question # 3 Director Bahringer-Question # 4 Director Wharton-Question # 5

President Rice spoke to the applicants. She advised them that they would each select their random number, be sequestered, and asked them not to discuss CCSD business while sequestered and to please not have any electronic devices on.

Candidate random numbering:

- 1. Dewayne Lee
- 2. Mark Herrier-could not attend
- 3.Allan MacKinnon
- 4. Jeff Walters
- 5. Karen Dean
- 6. David Pierson
- 7. Brian Morrow
- 8. Steve Kniffen
- 9. Allan Fields-will arrive later
- 10.Tom Gray
- 11. Ron Cristando
- 12. Dennis Perry

1. Dewayne Lee introduced himself.

- 2. Mr. Herrier-not present
- 3. Allan MacKinnon introduced himself.
- 4. Jeff Walters introduced himself.
- 5. Karen Dean introduced herself.
- 6. David Pierson introduced himself.
- 7. Brian Morrow introduced himself.
- 8. Steve Kniffen introduced himself.
- 9. Allan Fields-not present
- 10.Tom Gray introduced himself.
- 11. Ron Cristando introduced himself.
- 12. Dennis Perry introduced himself.

Public Comment for 1 minute: Bradley Zane Mike Lyons Jeff Hellman John Bell Jean Matulus Lucia Capaccioni Mary Webb

Sheri Bell Joe Zenk **Donald Archer** Claudia Harmon Worthen **Bev Praver** Ted Key Leslie Richards **Brian Griffith** Greg Bates: Read into the record by the President Cynthia Steidel **Bob Detweiler** Mark Rochefort Laurel Stewart Donn Howell Peter Chaldecott **Bob Fountain**

Break: the Board President called for a thirty minute lunch break.

At 1:49 p.m. the Board President called the meeting back to order.

Board members selected the following applicants for follow up questions:

President Rice: Dewayne Lee, Dennis Perry, and Karen Dean Vice President Farmer: Dewayne Lee and Karen Dean Director Bahringer: Tom Gray, Mark Herrier, and David Pierson Director Wharton: Tom Gray, Ronald Cristando, and Mark Herrier

The President called all applicants back to the Main Hall and advised them of the selected applicants, then dismissed them back to the sequester room.

The selected candidates returned to the interview portion of the meeting in the same order as originally selected.

Two minutes were allowed for each response.

Vice President Farmer asked all candidates the following question: What would the first steps be in the process of evaluating and identifying solutions to our fiscal challenges? What do you think fiscal responsibility means for the CCSD Board's authority?

Director Bahringer asked all candidates the following question: What information - data, reports, studies...do you rely on to make your judgements? Describe a situation when you had to learn a large amount of material quickly. How did you do it?

Director Wharton asked all candidates the following question: Identify something the District does that you perceive needs attention and describe what qualities you will bring to the Board to address that if appointed.

President Rice asked all candidates the following question: How will you work to bridge the perceived divides and bring more civility into the overall discourse?

Vice President Farmer moved to extend the meeting to 4:30 p.m.

Director Bahringer seconded the motion.

Roll Call Vote: Vice President Farmer- Aye Director Bahringer-Aye Director Wharton-Aye President Rice-Aye

Motion Passed Unanimously: 4-Ayes, 0-Nays, 0-Absent

President Rice asked the applicants to return to the main hall.

She asked the Board members if they have any follow-up questions.

Board discussion followed.

President Rice opened the floor for nominations.

Director Bahringer moved to nominate Tom Gray to fill the vacant Board seat.

Director Wharton seconded the motion.

Roll Call Vote:

Director Bahringer-Aye Director Wharton-Aye Vice President Farmer-Nay President Rice-Nay

Motion Failed: 2-Ayes (Bahringer, Wharton), 2-Nays (Farmer, Rice), 0-Absent

Vice President Farmer moved to nominate Dewayne Lee to fill the vacant Board seat.

President Rice seconded the motion.

Roll Call Vote:

Vice President Farmer-Aye President Rice-Aye Director Wharton-Nay Director Bahringer-Nay

Motion Failed: 2-Ayes (Farmer, Rice), 2-Nays (Bahringer, Wharton), 0-Absent

Director Bahringer moved to continue the meeting to a date certain, December 11, 2017 at 12:00 p.m.

Director Wharton seconded the motion.

Roll Call Vote:

Director Bahringer-Aye Director Wharton-Aye Vice President Farmer-Aye President Rice-Aye

Motion Passed Unanimously: 4-Ayes, 0-Nays, 0-Absent

B. Swear In Appointee

4. ADJOURN

President Rice adjourned the meeting at 3:50 p.m.