CAMBRIA COMMUNITY SERVICES DISTRICT BOARD OF DIRECTORS SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES Tuesday, October 3, 2017 12:00 PM

1. OPENING

A. Call to Order

President Rice called the meeting to order at 12:00 p.m.

B. Pledge of Allegiance

President Rice led the Pledge of Allegiance.

C. Establishment of Quorum

A quorum was established.

Directors present: President Rice, Vice President Sanders, Director Bahringer, and Director Farmer.

Staff present: District Counsel Timothy Carmel, Administrative Services Officer/District Clerk Monique Madrid, and Confidential Administrative Assistant Haley Dodson

2. PUBLIC COMMENT ON AGENDA ITEMS

President Rice opened the meeting with a discussion to determine the process for to fill the Board member vacancy. She asked the Board to discuss the qualities they are looking for in a Board member and why they want to fill the position with someone of like mind to Michael Thompson, and seeks a compromise to fill the vacancy.

Vice President Sanders and Director Bahringer asked to hear from the public prior to the discussion of filling the vacancy.

Director Bahringer asked to allow public comment on process and then allow public comment on the candidates.

President Rice asked for public comment on the process only and not on any candidates.

Public Comment on process: Tina Dickason Donald Archer Lucia Cappicioni Bruce Fosdike withdrew from the process Don Howell Mary Webb Jean Matulus Bob Kasper Elizabeth Bettenhausen

Vice President Sanders had a question for a speaker.

President Rice stated we are taking public comment and not going into discussion on public comment.

President Rice called a 5 minute break to re-establish order to the meeting.

President Rice asked for anyone who has already applied to come forward or anyone who wants to be on the list to come forward and state their name.

Leslie Richards Dennis Perry Mary Webb Ted Key Tina Dickason Stephen Kniffen Ronald Cristando Aaron Wharton Karen Dean Dewayne Lee Dave Pierson Lucia Capacchione Allan MacKinnon Elizabeth Bettenhausen stated she is not physically able to serve adequately Don Howell Alan Field Peter Chaldecott

President Rice nominated Steve Kniffen.

No second; motion died.

Public Comment on candidates: Mike Lyons Susan MacDonald Brian Griffin **Clive Mettrick** Tina Dickason Donald Archer: Passed Lucia Capacchione Cindy Steidel Bob Detweiler Don Howell Mary Webb Bob Kasper Elizabeth Bettenhausen Leslie Richards Tom Grav David Hill Crosby Swartz Aaron Wharton Nancy Anderson

3. REGULAR BUSINESS (Estimated time: 15 Minutes per item

- A. Interview Candidates for Vacancy on Board of Directors
- **B.** Appoint New Director to Board of Directors

Director Bahringer nominated Aaron Wharton to the Cambria Community Services District Board of Directors.

Vice President Sanders seconded the motion.

Roll Call Vote:

Director Bahringer-Aye Vice President Sanders-Aye Director Farmer-Abstain President Rice-Aye

Motion Passed: 3-Ayes (Bahringer, Sanders, Rice), 0-Nays, 0-Absent, 1-Abstain (Farmer)

C. Swear In Appointee

Aaron Wharton was sworn in by District Clerk Monique Madrid.

4. ADJOURN

President Rice adjourned the meeting at 2:54 p.m.